How to trick an 8-year-old into doing his math

Adrian: I will never need to know how to do math. [Amazing how it seems every kid says this at one time or other. Most amusing to me is his older sister said the very same thing so many times and now she’s suddenly moved over to my side of the argument.]

Me: Yes, you will. What is 8×4?

Adrian: I won’t.

Ani: You will. I use math every day at work. I have to figure out how much money people owe when they buy things. I have to calculate payments. I have to figure out my hours. Adrian, I make $8 an hour and I worked 4 hours last night. How much money did I make last night?

Adrian: [He thought for a moment, started to answer, and then looked at her with the funniest expression and said the following in an astonished voice.] You tricked me!

[He quickly finished his math after this since he, apparently, understood that he would in fact need to know how to do math at some point in the future.]

Leave a Reply

