Getting glutened sucks…

…but getting over being glutened is pretty nice.

A couple weeks ago, on a Friday night, Jamie and I went on a date to Orange Leaf. Usually I just get frozen yogurt and fruit. Fruit is generally safe from cross contamination. That night I decided I wanted some almonds, too. The almonds were right next to the crushed graham crackers. The little warning voice in my head told me it was too risky. But did I listen to that little warning voice? Of course I didn’t.

Within a few minutes of ingesting those microscopic bits of cross contaminated gluten, my stomach started screaming in pain. It’s funny, but when a Celiac has certain symptoms we immediately start thinking about what we’ve eaten recently and what may have gotten us sick. The thing is, if we’re careful (and listen to that little warning voice) odds are those symptoms are from something not at all related to Celiac Disease. Plus, the pain from gluten is just different and very easy to recognize.

Soon after my stomach started yelling at me, I told Jamie we needed to get home. Immediately. It’s a good thing Orange Leaf is less than a mile and a half from our house so I made it just in time. Getting glutened is so lovely.

I spent that weekend in bed alternating between reading, napping, and rushing to the toilet. By Sunday evening I was feeling a lot better. Not great, but good enough I could get out of bed and go back to relative normalcy. Crazy that something I couldn’t even see could cause that much pain and exhaustion. (Interestingly, Ani and a friend of mine with Celiac have gotten glutened every time they’ve eaten at Orange Leaf – but Ani has never gotten glutened at YogurtZone).

Fast forward a week and a half to Wednesday. I woke up after spending the night getting up every hour and a half or so to pee (five times!) and my joints were almost back to their normal size. My vague headache was gone. I had actual energy. I cleaned like crazy since I had only been able to do basic straightening while I was glutened (my floors really needed to be mopped!) I felt so much better. The next day was even better and by 2 weeks after the glutening I was back to normal.

It’s easy to forget how sick I was before we discovered my problem was Celiac. It’s easy to forget the chronic exhaustion, the pain in my joints, the difficulty walking due to pain in my heels, the stomach pain that feels like it’s swelling and might explode, the multiple trips a day to the bathroom and associated soreness from that. But then I accidentally ingest a little bit of gluten and I’m reminded just how bad Celiac is and how glad I am that we figured out I have Celiac last year and normally I don’t feel sick anymore.

2 thoughts on “Getting glutened sucks…

  1. Tell me about the heel pain. I have it, for no good reason at all. Daughter just tested positive for celiac, I’m wondering if I need to as well.

    • It’s pain in the heels that hurts like crazy every time I take a step totally unrelated from cracks or anything. It made it so some days I could barely walk. Usually it would get a little better the more I walked, but those first few steps were excruciating.

Leave a Reply

