Sopapillas!

I love sopapillas. Unfortunately, it’s pretty hard to make gluten free things that are just like their gluteny counterparts. After several tries that weren’t bad, but weren’t right, either, I am finally getting the hang of sopapillas.

I use Gluten Free on a Shoestring’s recipe.

I make the dough and then Cameron does the rolling and cutting. We usually get around 30 or 32 per batch.
Sopapillas!

I have found that I have to put four in the boiling oil pretty much all at once. Otherwise some of them won’t puff up. I have no idea why this is.
Sopapillas!

Once they’ve been in the oil about 30 or 45 seconds, they are floating and nice and puffy. I poke them with a big spoon and they flip over so the other side can get brown, too.
Sopapillas!

I drain them on paper towels and they come out nice and brown and puffy and delicious.
Sopapillas!

We eat them dipped in warm honey.
Sopapillas!

Perfect! And the best part is they don’t taste gluten free. They just taste good.
Sopapillas!

One thought on “Sopapillas!

Leave a Reply

