Books Referencing Other Books

One of the things I love most about reading – and I tend to read a really eclectic mix of books (the only thing I don’t like at all is romance) – is noticing references to other books in the books I read. For example, I read The Hundred trilogy this week. The second book, Day 21, has a flashback scene where one of the characters says she just wants the book so she can know if “she ends up with the boy who called her carrots.” I laughed when I read that because a week or so ago I read Anne of Green Gables and that’s the book that scene is referencing. It’s like some books have word easter eggs just waiting to be discovered. Finding them makes me want to read even more to find the ones I’m missing!

Leave a Reply

