Planning Reading and Vocabulary

I decided that Fritz’s reading and vocabulary lessons would come from books with excerpts in Writing With Ease 2. It provides a little continuity, plus those are some excellent books. But that means I have to plan it out and come up with those lessons myself.

First I had to pick the books he would read. I went through the WWE lessons and made a list of every book used along with the week it is used. I checked each book on Amazon to see if there was a Kindle version. Books without Kindle versions available were immediately eliminated. I know this immediately rejects some good books, but I had to narrow them down somehow and that seemed like a good first step.

Then I started with the first book and checked how many chapters are in it and estimated how long it will take to get through the entire book. That determined about when the second book will start and so the next book to read needed to be used in WWE around that point. It actually ended up easier than I imagined it would. Only one slot could have been filled with two different books so I let Fritz choose between the two.

So, over the course of the 2014-15 school year, Fritz will be reading the following seven books:

  • The Patchwork Girl of Oz by L. Frank Baum
  • Ginger Pye by Eleanor Estes
  • The Borrowers by Mary Norton
  • Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit
  • Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting
  • The Magic of Oz by L. Frank Baum
  • Bunnicula: A Rabbit Tale of Mystery by Deborah Howe

Now I am working on reading through the books (the only one I’ve ever read before is Ginger Pye) in order to come up with questions, activities, and vocabulary words to study. I’ve done five chapters of The Patchwork Girl of Oz. It takes a little longer to do it this way instead of just buying a literature study guide, but I think it’ll work better for how I want that part of school to go if I make it up myself.

5 thoughts on “Planning Reading and Vocabulary

  1. Pingback: Literature Selections | Smaller on the Outside

  2. Pingback: School Books by Me | Smaller on the Outside

  3. Pingback: Reading Books for Fritz and Cameron | Smaller on the Outside

  4. Pingback: Final Thoughts on What We Used | Smaller on the Outside

  5. Pingback: Next Year | Smaller on the Outside

Leave a Reply

