The Westing Game

I first read The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin when I was in fourth grade. My gifted and talented teacher assigned it. I absolutely loved the book. Over the years I’ve reread it many times and even though I know the answer, I still enjoy it.

I decided it would be fun to read it again. It’s been 7 or 8 years since the last time. I also thought it would be neat to share a book I loved so much with my daughter. So I went to reserve it at the library and was surprised to discover it was made into a movie a few years ago. I put it on hold right away and today we watched it.

There are a lot of differences between the movie and the book, but the movie was still excellent. It’s a sweet movie with nothing objectionable (Feature Films for Families and Hallmark so of course it is). It held the big kids attention (and mine, too). I knew the plot and what would happen, but that kind of made it better for me.

Now I can’t wait to pick the book up (it’s waiting for me at the library) so I can read it again and to see how Ani likes it, too. She usually hates books I love, but I think this one might be different, especially since she enjoyed the movie. The book is even better!

Leave a Reply

