Pancake Puffs

My mom asked me what I wanted for my birthday. She said it could be anything, even something totally silly and frivolous. Well, it just so happens I’ve been wanting that Pancake Puffs pan that they advertise on TV so that’s what I said I wanted. Silly, yes. Frivolous, probably. But I wanted it and my parents got it for me.

On Saturday I decided to make pancake puffs for breakfast. It was so fun! The pan is cast iron and quite a bit heavier than I expected. The kit also came with skewers to turn the puffs and a thing to inject stuff inside them and a sugar shaker and a pastry brush. It also included a recipe booklet and hot pad for the handle of the pan.

There’s a bit of a learning curve when it comes to making the puffs. The temperature on the stove needs to be relatively low or else they cook too fast and don’t work out quite right. Knowing when to turn them and how much to fill the wells of the pan also takes some practice. Injecting them with filling takes a lot of practice. I made a bit of a mess figuring out how to do that.

The recipe booklet leaves a lot to be desired, but there are lots of recipes available on-line. I did just the basic pancake recipe. It mixed up fast and made several dozen puffs. Once the first batch had cooled enough we tried them. They were good. If you like pancakes, you’ll like pancake puffs. Apparently if you don’t like pancakes you still may like pancake puffs. My toddler won’t eat pancakes. But he ate more than a dozen pancake puffs! That’s a lot of food for a little guy. He just couldn’t get enough.

I filled about three dozen of the puffs with Ian’s homemade strawberry syrup. The kids and I finished all of those filled ones off rather quickly. Cameron wants to make brownie puffs and even had Ian take him to the store to get chocolate icing to inject into them. It really was fun making the puffs. I will definitely be making a lot more of them!
Pancake Puffs

Leave a Reply

